decorations with flags candy pitcher.jpg

Primary and Special Elections and Seventeen Year Olds

Guess what? Seventeen year olds who are registered to vote in Virginia can vote in Special Elections and in Primaries. Anyone who is qualified to register to vote who will be 18 before November 5, 2019, can register. Thus, the vast majority of FCPS seniors can register now.

Please send FCPS seniors you know to to find the name of their school. By registering through our links, which go directly to the Virginia Department of Elections, their school will get credit.

Which schools have students who can vote in the 86th District Special Election?

The following schools are most likely to have students in the 86th District. We have unique URLs for each school, so students can click on the following links and they will each get credit for the challenge.

Chantilly High School

Herndon HS Students

Langley High School

South Lakes High School


Herndon's link, for example, is

Voting in Party Primaries

Did you know that when you register to vote in Virginia, you DO NOT register to vote by party? Virginia is an Open Primary state which means that any registered voter in Virginia can vote in either a Democratic or Republican primary. When both parties are holding a primary election, you will be asked which primary you want to vote in when you check in to vote with your photo ID. Note, you may only vote in one primary.

Special Election 86th District of the Virginia House of Delegates

See the results here.

Tuesday, February 19th, 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

A special election will be held on Tuesday, February 19, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of the 86th District seat of the Virginia House of Delegates. The unexpired term ends January 8, 2020. The 86th House of Delegate District includes parts of Fairfax and Loudoun Counties. Only qualified voters of the 86th District are eligible to vote in this election.


Member, House of Delegates - 86th District (Links to websites are given, if available)

When is the deadline to register to vote, or update an existing registration?

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Deadline to request an absentee ballot to be mailed to you is also Tuesday, February 12, 2019. Your request must be received by your Registrar by 5:00 p.m.

Deadline to return an absentee ballot to be mailed to you is Tuesday, February 19, 2019. Your request must be received by your Registrar by 5:00 p.m.

Register and update your voter registration here.

Which district am I in? Who’s my legislator?


What about absentee (in-person and by mail) voting?

January 30: In-Person Absentee Voting begins at the Fairfax County Government Center, Office of Elections, Suite 323

More deadlines:

  • February 12: Voter Registration Deadline (In-Person/By Mail) 5:00 p.m.; Online: 11:59 p.m.

  • February 12: Deadline to apply to receive an Absentee Ballot by mail, fax and Online: 5:00 p.m. 

  • February 16: Deadline for In-Person Absentee Voting, 5:00 p.m.

  • February 19: Absentee Ballot return deadline, 7:00 p.m.

How are the candidates Chosen to run in the special election?

The Democrats called a Firehouse Primary on Saturday, January 12th from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Republicans held a Mass District-wide Election for Saturday, January 19th, at 9 a.m.

General Information about the 86th Special Election

The 86th Delegate District covers parts of Fairfax County and Loudoun County. Only Republicans in the 86th Delegate District can participate in the mass meeting.   The Fairfax County precincts in the 86th Delegate District follows:

Dranesville District:  Clearview,  Sugarland,  Herndon #1,  Herndon #2,  Herndon #3,  Hutchison, Coates

Hunter Mill District:  Stuart,  Floris,  Fox Mill

Sully District:  Carson,  Armfield, Oak Hill

SAMPLE BALLOTS - (All ballots include English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean languages) 

  • Member, House of Delegates 86th District - Sample Ballot - TBA

86th House of Delegates District - Fairfax County Precincts  (86th House of Delegates District also includes parts of Loudoun County)

  • 203 Floris

  • 229 Fox Mill

  • 236 Stuart

  • 319 Herndon #1

  • 320 Herndon #2

  • 321 Clearview

  • 324 Herndon #3

  • 325 Hutchison

  • 327 Sugarland

  • 332 Coates

  • 909 Oak Hill

  • 927 Armfield

Special Election for the 33rd Senate District Results

Click here for the results.

The Special Election Occurred on Tuesday, January 8th, 2019, 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

When Jennifer Wexton won the 10th District Election for US Congress, that opened up her Senate Seat in Virginia, the 33rd Senate District.

Candidates in the Special Election:

Jennifer Boysko (D)

Joe May (R)

See the Top 10 of the Special Election flyer here.

See the map of the Senate District 33 and the District Profile.

Loudoun County Residents of the 33rd:

For Loudoun residents, vote In-Person Absentee Voting Location and Schedule (no satellite voting location for this election);

Voter Registration Office
750 Miller Dr. SE, Suite C
Leesburg, VA 20175

Monday through Friday (through January 4, 2019) - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 5, 2019 - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Please note that the Loudoun County Office is closed on December 24 and 25, and December 31 and January 1.